Suze Musings

I live life. Then I get sleepy.

Random Glimpses of NYC and BEA

leave a comment »

I had a great time in NYC last week. I was in town to attend the IDPF Digital Book Conference and Book Expo America. I was also able to squeeze in a little non-work fun, too.

I flew in on Sunday, May 22, and met a friend for brunch at the Cloister Cafe in the East Village. Loved the Omelete Latino. Avocado!

Lovely stained glass window at the Cloister Cafe.


Here are a few photos of my celebrity encounters at BEA:

Julianne Moore from afar. Had to abandon her line as it was tooooo loooong….

John Lithgow gave a great talk about his book. Can’t wait to read my free copy!

Jimmy Fallon was signing “Thank You Notes.” His hand was a wee bit sweaty.

Jane Lynch was signing…a photo of herself. I didn’t hear her talk as I was doing some business, so I’m not sure where her book was.

Flava Flav? Sure, why not?

I have a crush on Dave Barry. It’s true.

Mindy Kaling, with what looks like a Hitler stache. Sorry!

Some shots without celebs:

I guess it doesn’t hurt to advertise.

Awesome view out my hotel window.

I rounded out my trip by attending a performance of How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying. I totally enjoyed this show! I had never seen it before, so the story was fresh for me, especially since Mad Men seems to have made all things ’60s kind of cool again. The cast was excellent, and Daniel Radcliffe held his own. So, he’s not the best singer ever…he was fine and carried the show really well. Of course, he did look sort of ridiculous standing next to John Laroquette, but nothing’s perfect. It was everything I had hoped from a fun musical on a Thursday evening!

As if Danny needs the ladder to success!

Before taking off on Friday, I made my way back to Greenwich Village just to mosey around and get away from the crowds. It was actually pretty serene. Beat the lunch rush at John’s Pizzeria and grabbed a pie (can’t buy just a slice there). It was good, but I don’t get the hype.

Serene view out the window at John’s.

Leave a comment