Suze Musings

I live life. Then I get sleepy.

Indy Zoo Boo and Funky Bones

leave a comment »

I went to a conference in Indianapolis a few weeks ago and stayed at the JW Marriott, which provided excellent access to White River State Park. On a beautiful Sunday late afternoon/early evening, I strolled over to the Indianapolis Zoo during their Zoo Boo event.

This is a great little zoo, not too big, but enough to do for a couple of hours. And pretty flat! I’m used to the Cincinnati Zoo’s rolling hills, so this was definitely easier to get around.

DSCN2203

Not sure why the canal looks like Willy Wonka’s chocolate river.

 

DSCN2218

I thought I was going to have the whole zoo to myself as I scampered down this path all alone. Then I got to the actual entrance, and well, there WERE other people there!

 

DSCN2325

Boo! It’s the zoo!

 

DSCN2231

This jellyfish looked so unreal to me.

I was watching the little sharks avoid all the grabby hands in the touch tank in the Oceans building and decided to give it a try. Holy moley, that was a long reach! I asked the lady working there if anyone ever fell in. She said, “Oh, maybe about 50 people.” What????

The zoo offered a couple of shows: a dolphin show (which required a free ticket from the ticket booth–the shows did “sell out”) and a dog show featuring an “America’s Got Talent” winner and his trained shelter dogs. I loved this show!

DSCN2324

This was an elaborate trick in which the dog jumped off the trainer’s back, over three kids from the audience, and caught a Frisbee midair.

 

DSCN2318

This pooch was a high jumper.

 

DSCN2285

I liked that some of the habitats allowed viewing the animals from different angles, like a bridge that went over zebras.

 

DSCN2346

Not what you were expecting at the end of the rainbow.

 

DSCN2365

I also visited the adjacent botanical garden, which contained some fabulous water gardens and plants, like this ginormous water lily.

Before I left for home, I went to the Indianapolis Museum of Art to check out Funky Bones, a cool outdoor sculpture of sorts.

DSCN2395

Randomly, the governor was there.

 

DSCN2434

There wasn’t any way to get a full photo of it; this was the best I could do by standing on one of the feet.

 

DSCN2415

Of course I had to get a foot shot.

 

Written by suzemusings

October 18, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Leave a comment